WVIHF TEACHER LETTER

To 8th Grade Teachers in Ohio County

Thank you for assisting us in our second annual West Virginia Independence Hall Writing Contest for 8th graders, the theme of which is Francis H. Pierpont. Please read the entry form and assist interested students in understanding the rules and guidelines for submission of their essays. All original essays should be submitted to the Education Committee of WVIHF. Our goal is to recognize all student essayists and to make them aware that we value their time and diligent efforts. The time frame for writing the essays is October 31-December 2.

We would like to request your input. Please help our committee by selecting essays which you would recommend as qualifying essays for our consideration. We also request that you send a list of all students in your class who took part in the writing contest. The essays and list of essayists should be placed in a manila envelope. One of the members of the education committee will be contacting the teachers to pick up the essays at the participating schools the week of December 12th-16th.

We would like to have interested students tour Independence Hall located at:

16th and Market Street Wheeling, WV 26003

While visits to the Hall are not mandatory, we strongly encourage students make their best effort to visit in order to sense the history of the times. We believe the experience would provide a springboard for their essay ideas.

The 10 best essayists, their families and teachers will be invited to a special reception in Independence Hall after the holidays. At that time, the three winners will be announced and invited to present their essays orally to the audience gathered in the historic fourth floor Courtroom.

Thank you for your assistance and support of our efforts to expand our community's awareness of Independence Hall and to provide our 8th grade students with a challenging historic writing experience.

Thank you,

The Education Committee of West Virginia Independence Hall Foundation

Lynne Exley, Dr. Joe Laker, Pattie Hershey, DeAnna Taylor